European Box Lacrosse Invitational

European Box Lacrosse Invitational – HistoryEuropean Box Lacrosse Invitational

The first ever European Box Lacrosse Invitational took place April 17-20th 2015. Organisers saw it as a chance to prepare for the 2015 FIL World Indoor Lacrosse Championship in Onondaga.

The E-Box Invitational took place at LCC Radotín’s world famous outdoor box. Czech Republic, Ireland, Israel, Germany, Switzerland and Finland were the original six countries to compete.

Teams played 4X15 minute quarters and under International Lacrosse Federation rules. (Rulebooks)

European Box Lacrosse Invitational – Annual Event?

The next year Poland and Sweden joined making it 8 international box lacrosse teams. Czech Republic and Finland sent U19 teams. 

European Box Lacrosse Invitational

The third instalment of the European Box Lacrosse Invitational just took place from Friday April 21 to Monday April 24th 2017. Austria, Norway and Sweden competed for the first time in this event. The Czech Republic put together a B squad and Czech team LC Old Dogs Plzeň participated.

European Box Lacrosse Invitational – Here to stay? 

The first even European Box Lacrosse Championships were held in Turku, Finland July 8-15th 2017. 14 nations competed in this first ever European Championship. In no specific order you have; Netherlands, Switzerland, Poland, Serbia, Ireland, Slovakia, Austria, Germany, Czech Republic, Sweden, England, Turkey, Israel and of course Finland competing.

With the European Championships taking place every four years, it looks like the European Invitational in Radotín will be an annual event. International Box Lacrosse teams will have a chance to test out their squads annually in a friendly environment.

For all other information you can go to the official website.