CUFLA – Canadian University Field Lacrosse Association

The Canadian Field Lacrosse Association (CUFLA) is a collection of men’s university field lacrosse teams in the provinces of Ontario and Québec (Canada). CUFLA was originally the CUFLAOntario University Field Lacrosse Association which was founded in 1985. In 2002, two teams from Québec joined (McGill and Bishops University) changing the associations name to The Canadian Field Lacrosse Association.

CUFLA – Teams and Divisions

The association has 15 teams in total that are split into East and West divisions.


  • Bishop’s (Lennoxville, Québec)
  • Queen’s (Kingston, Ontario)CUFLA
  • McGill (Montreal,QC)
  • Carlton (Ottawa, ON)
  • Trent (Peterborough, ON)
  • Ottawa (Ottawa,ON)
  • Concordia (Montreal, QC)


  • Western (London,ON)
  • Brock (St.Catherines, ON)
  • Guelph (Guelph, ON)CUFLA
  • Nipissing (North Bay,ON)
  • Laurentian (Sudbury, ON)
  • Laurier (Waterloo, ON)
  • McMaster (Hamilton, ON)
  • Toronto (Toronto, ON)

CUFLA – The Basics

Season goes from late August until end of October. The top teams meet in the playoffs and battle for the Baggataway Cup and Canadian field lacrosse glory.

With the success Canada has seen on the World scale the field game is growing.  Players are keener than ever to learn more.  Many Canadians have had success in the NCAA which helps immensely.  Also, a fair amount of players from the USA playing in Canadian Universities today. All of these factors raise the quality of play and pushes the league forward.

CUFLA – A Bright Future

As off a couple of years ago CUFLA had 60 of it’s alumni graduate into the NLL.  The league will only get stronger from here on out.  Maybe one day we can see some exhibition games with the NCAA?  Would help push the field game even more in Canada.

If you would like to know the rules of CUFLA you can Click Here, or if you want to go to their Official Website Click Here.